More about Child Sponsorship

When you sponsor a child, you also support their entire community. Together with the contributions of other sponsors, you will invest in long-term, community-based programmes focused on early childhood development, health and nutrition as well as education. This means that any child in a sponsorship community – including those who may never have the opportunity to have a sponsor of their own – can benefit from your support. You’ll also help our team of experts to build the skills of children, parents and community leaders to create lasting change for future generations.

Save the Children’s sponsorship programs provide children with the best start to life – supporting them from birth to adulthood. While we work to address the specific needs of an individual community, we focus on five core areas:

Healthy Moms and Babies – Giving mothers and babies a healthy start in life.
The first years of a child’s life are the most critical – and dangerous. Despite remarkable progress in child survival, nearly 6 million children under age 5 still die each year, mostly from preventable or treatable causes like pneumonia, diarrhea and malaria. Thanks to you, we’re doing whatever it takes to ensure access to lifesaving health care, right from the start, so babies and their mothers survive and thrive.

Early Learners – Building the foundation for success in school.
All children deserve to learn and grow. Yet only about half of young children around the world have the opportunity to attend preschool. Because of sponsors like you, girls and boys can have access to the early care and development they need, both at home and within their communities, so they’re ready from the start to succeed in school and life.

Successful Students – Learning today for a better tomorrow.
Every child deserves a quality education. Unfortunately, globally more than 50 million children each year are never able to set foot in a classroom. And 130 million more still can’t read after years of schooling. Through school and community based reading, writing and math programs, we ensure children are in school, protected and learning, providing the best chance for success and a brighter future.

Healthy Girls and Boys – Staying healthy to learn, learning to stay healthy.
Children can’t reach their full learning potential if they’re not in school. Yet millions of children each year are missing out on education due to preventable illnesses caused by conditions such as unsafe water and poor sanitation and diet. Thanks to sponsors like you, we’re addressing these barriers and teaching children lifelong health, hygiene and nutrition habits that they can use in school and at home – ensuring they and their families have healthy behaviors that will last far beyond their school years.

Empowered Teens – Building skills for a brighter future.
Adolescence is a time of intense change, which shapes future opportunities. But without support, young people around the world can make decisions that will compromise their futures, like dropping out of school or becoming a teen parent. Because of your generosity, we are able to help adolescents build lasting life skills for personal and workplace success so they can positively transition to adulthood —building a brighter future for themselves and their communities.

Save the Children has country offices and local staff in all of our sponsorship areas. Each child is identified and offered the opportunity to participate in sponsorship in consultation with their family or caregiver. It is up to the child if they want to have a sponsor. When a child receives a sponsor, they are notified by our local staff. Even if a child does not have a sponsor, they can still actively participate and receive the benefits of sponsorship programs.

No. When you begin sponsoring a child, you are connected to the child in a one-to-one relationship.

Yes. When you sign-up for child sponsorship you will be connected to a specific child with whom you will be able to communicate with if you choose. This allows you to build a relationship with your sponsored child and personally share the positive changes you are making in his or her life.

Sponsorship is a voluntary, ongoing contribution that assists children and their entire communities. Save the Children’s sponsorship programmes are structured to remain in a community for 8 to 10 years. You may start sponsoring a child during the early stages of our work in their community or towards the end.

Regular donations provide a stable source of income to fund programs that achieve sustainable improvements in child survival, well-being and development.

Ultimately, it is up to you how long you decide to be part of our sponsorship program.

有關助養兒童計劃運作

助養計劃的善款不但能改善一個兒童的生活,更可以協助他們整個社區的發展。我們將集合您與其他助養者的善款,運用於長遠的社區發展項目,包括兒童早期發展、健康和教育。這意味着助養社區內的每一個兒童,包括非助養兒童,均可受惠於您的善款。您亦幫助我們為兒童、家長和社區領袖建立發展技能,為下一代帶來持久改變。

救助兒童會的助養兒童計劃為兒童生活帶來美好的開始–並支持他們出生以至長大成年。我們會按個別社區的具體需求制定計劃,同時重點發展五大方向:

健康媽媽及寶寶 — 為媽媽及寶寶的健康成長帶來最好的開始
兒童生命的首年是最關鍵的 – 亦是最危險的。儘管近年的兒童死亡率得到顯著改善,但每年仍有近600萬名5歲以下兒童因可預防疾病包括肺炎,腹瀉和瘧疾而死亡。有了您的支持,我們會竭盡所能去確保嬰兒及其母親得到醫療保健服務,給予他們一個健康的發展。

早期學童 — 為幼兒打好學習的基礎
每一個兒童都值得擁有學習和成長的機會。然而,世界上僅有約一半的幼兒有機會入讀幼兒園。但若有更多像您這樣的助養者,兒童便可以在家裡和社區內得到所需的早期兒童照顧及發展,為將來的學習作好準備。

卓越學生 — 提供良好學習環境,為未來作好準備
每個兒童都值得接受有質素的教育。但是,全球每年有超過5,000萬名兒童無法踏足課室。另外還有一億三千萬名兒童,在接受多年教育後依然不懂閱讀。通過學校和社區閱讀,寫作及數學項目,我們確保兒童有機會上學,並受到保護和學習,提供發展的機會以及更美好的未來。

健康兒童 — 為兒童締造健康成長的環境
如果兒童不上學讀書,他們無法充分發展學習潛力。但基於不潔食水,衛生環境惡劣及不良飲食習慣等原因,每年有數百萬兒童因可預防疾病而失學。有賴您的支持,我們能夠消除這些障礙,教導孩子養成良好的健康、衛生和營養習慣,同時影響他們學校和家庭環境,確保他們所學到的保健習慣能畢身受用。

扶植青少年 — 為青少年裝備技能,迎接更美好的未來
青春期是經歷快速轉變的時期,亦帶來塑造未來的機會。如沒有足夠支持,世界各地的青少年有機會面對輟學或早婚問題。因為有您的慷慨支持,我們能夠幫助青少年發展長遠的生活及工作技能,積極地過渡至成年階段,為自己及社區建立更美好的未來。

救助兒童會於所有助養地區都設有項目辦公室及當地工作人員。每一名兒童都有機會參與助養計劃,我們會先與他們的家長或照顧者進行諮詢,而兒童的意願是我們的首要考慮。當兒童獲助養,當地工作人員會通知他們。但非助養兒童亦能積極參與及同樣受惠於我們的項目。

不會。您將與助養兒童建立一對一的關係。

是。當您登記成為助養者,我們會為您安排一位助養兒童。然後您便可開始與該助養兒童建立關係,為他們的生命帶來正面影響。

助養兒童計劃屬於自願及持續性捐款,希望為兒童及整個社區帶來長遠的改變。救助兒童會的助養兒童計劃一般會於當地社區工作8至10年。我們歡迎您於計劃發展的任何階段加入助養兒童計劃,因此時間長短不一。

而持續性捐款更可為項目提供穩定的善款來源,讓我們能制訂可持續發展的項目,改善兒童的生活,福祉及發展。

但參與助養兒童計劃的時間仍取決於您的個人意願。