How to Communicate With My Child

After you become a Child Sponsor with Save the Children, you will receive a Child Sponsor Welcome kit with child photo, and orientation materials to help you get your sponsorship started. Get to know more about your child’s country, the use of your donation and how to communicate with your child.

Your child will write you the first letter within 2 months. You are also welcome to write to and receive correspondence from your child at any time.

Each year, you’ll receive an Annual Sponsorship Report designed to let you know how your sponsored child is progressing in school and in other areas of his or her life. Along with your update, you’ll receive a new photo of your child!

We will send you regular e-newsletters to keep you informed about our work and the impact we’re making together for children around the world.

Donations of HK$100 or above are tax deductible. An annual receipt for monthly donation will be issued every April for tax return.

Yes, of course! Correspondence can be one of the greatest joys of sponsorship. We encourage you to correspond with your sponsored child regularly (three or four letters a year is recommended) so your sponsored child can learn about you and you can learn more about them! As you are looking to build a connection, it is best to limit the number of people who correspond with the child. Writing a letter on behalf of your family, or even having your child/grandchild correspond, is recommended so multiple people can be part of the experience. Sending photographs with your letter is also a great way for sponsors to connect with their sponsored child and for the child to put a face to a name. When sending photos, sponsors should ensure that every person in the image is appropriately dressed and the photo is culturally sensitive.

Modest gifts that fit into a C5 envelope (229mm x 162mm x 2mm) and individual items should not exceed HK$70, such as stickers, activity sheets, and colouring books, may be sent to sponsored children. However, please be aware that gifts can be lost in unreliable postal systems and gifts we deem inappropriate will not be sent to your sponsored child. Only gifts that can be shared with all children should be sent, individual gifts can sometimes cause jealousy among children.

Please see below for types of items that are not permitted:

  • Apparel (e.g. clothes, coats, shoes)
  • Accessories (e.g. hats, scarves, ties)
  • Breakables (e.g. glass items and dishware)
  • Food/Candy
  • Large, extravagant gifts (e.g. bikes, skateboards)
  • Liquids (e.g. bubbles, perfume, toothpaste)
  • Money
  • Personal hygiene products (e.g. body wash, makeup, soap)

It is not permitted nor safe to send cash directly to the child. Additional monetary gifts (over and above your monthly sponsorship donation) are always appreciated, and those funds will be applied to the programs that support your sponsored child and his or her community. If you wish to help your sponsored child’s community with an extra gift, please contact our sponsor support team.

Yes! One of the great delights of being a Save the Children sponsor is having the chance to visit your sponsored child — to meet face to face, interact in person and further strengthen the bond you’ve formed.

Save the Children will organise annual group visits regularly for sponsors to see their sponsorship contributions in action. You’ll be able to visit — and maybe participate in — sponsorship-funded programmes in your child’s community and meet local Save the Children staff.

The first group trip will be coming in 2018! Details will be announced soon.

All letters should include your sponsor ID, the name of your sponsored child and his or her child ID on both the inside and outside of the item. If you are missing any of this information please contact our sponsor support team by 3160 8786.

Yes. No matter which language you choose to communicate with your child, you will receive the original letter of the child. If you want to receive a Chinese translation, we will deliver the translation with the original.

If you are sponsoring a younger child, you will receive updates about your child from a special person in that child’s life – a family member, teacher or other caregiver. As your child grows older, you will experience the joy of seeing that child develop through the drawings and letters he or she begins to send you. You’ll also have the satisfaction of knowing that your sponsorship support and encouragement helped make that healthy development a reality!

As many sponsored children are developing their reading and writing skills, short and thoughtful messages are best. To get to know your sponsored child better, you may wish to ask about their daily life, family and friends. Your sponsored child will be delighted to learn more about you as well, so sharing similar information is the easiest way to start a relationship. To further your correspondence, you may want to research traditions or holidays in your sponsored child’s community and ask about them. They, too, may take interest in hearing about your family’s traditions. Overall your messages serve as a reminder that someone outside of their community is thinking of them, and your correspondence, whether by mail or email, will certainly be cherished.

Please note: For the protection of you and your sponsored child, please do not include your address, email or phone number in your letters and emails or ask your sponsored child to provide their contact details.

The average letter will take about 3 months’ time to receive a reply. Translation and the postal system where your sponsored child lives may cause delays. Please also keep in mind that depending on the time of year, children may be observing a school break or holiday. Although the wait time is long, you will cherish the reply!

有關與兒童聯繫

當您成為救助兒童會的助養者,您將會收到助養兒童計劃的迎新資料包,內附兒童相片及迎新資料,助您開展助養兒童計劃。您會了解更多有關兒童居住國家的資訊,捐款用途及與助養兒童的溝通方法。

助養兒童寫的第一封信將會於2個月內送到您手中。我們亦歡迎您隨時寫信給助養兒童,與兒童逐步建立友誼。

每年,您會收到助養兒童年度報告,看到助養兒童在學校以至其生活的改變。同時,您會收到兒童的最新相片。

我們亦會透過定期通訊,向您分享我們的工作及我們共同為世界各地兒童帶來的轉變。

另外,捐款港幣一佰元或以上可扣減稅款。捐款收據將於每年四月簽發一次,以便申請報稅。

當然可以! 信函是您參與助養計劃中最大的喜悅之一。我們鼓勵您定期與助養兒童聯繫 (建議每年可寫3至4封信),讓助養兒童能夠認識您,亦能加深您對助養兒童的了解。如您的家人或子女希望參與寫信給您的助養兒童,建議由您本人代筆表達他們的想法,讓助養兒童比較容易理解。您亦可以在信函中附上相片,讓助養兒童認識您。但必須留意在寄送的照片中,每一個人有沒有穿著合適的衣服及留心有否觸及文化差異。

如您希望寄禮物給兒童,您可以選擇一些比較輕巧,並且能夠放進C5信封 (229mm x 162mm x 2mm)的禮物,每件物件的價值不應超過港幣$70,如貼紙、遊戲工作紙或填色本等。但請留意郵寄禮物有機會受到國家入口限制。為免引起助養兒童之間的互相比較,我們建議選擇兒童能分享他人的禮物。

請參閱以下不建議物品類型:

  • 服裝(如衣服,大衣,鞋子)
  • 服裝飾物(如帽子,圍巾,領帶)
  • 易碎產品(如玻璃製品和餐具)
  • 食物/糖果
  • 大件奢侈的禮物(如自行車,滑板)
  • 液體(如氣泡,香水,牙膏)
  • 個人衛生用品(如沐浴露,化妝品,肥皂)

基於安全考慮,我們的計劃不允許直接向助養兒童發送現金。如您希望透過額外善款支持我們的項目,幫助您的助養兒童及社區,歡迎聯絡我們的捐款服務部。

當然可以! 作為救助兒童會的助養者,其中最大的喜悅便是有機會親身探訪助養兒童,與他們見面交流,建立更深厚的友誼。

救助兒童會將會定期舉辦助養者體驗行,助養者能藉此更深入了解自己的捐款被如何運用,更有機會探訪及親身體驗助養社區受惠的項目,並與救助兒童會當地工作人員交流。

第一次助養者體驗行計劃於2018年舉行!詳情將稍後公佈,請密切留意。

所有信函必須在信件及信封面寫上助養者編號,助養兒童編號及助養兒童名稱。如您忘記任何有關資料,歡迎致電3160 8786 與捐款服務部聯絡。

可以。無論您選擇使用哪種語言與您的助養兒童溝通,您都能收到兒童信件的正本。如果您選擇中文翻譯,我們會將翻譯與正本一同寄出。

如果您的助養兒童年紀太少,您會收到由兒童的家人、老師或照顧者撰寫的信告訴您有關兒童的最新訊息。當您的助養兒童慢慢長大,開始懂得畫畫或自己回信,您會逐步體驗到助養計劃及您的鼓勵如何帶來真正的改變!

因有很多的助養兒童才剛開始學習閱讀和寫字,所以您最好以簡短及親切的方式表達自己。為加深您對助養兒童的認識,您可以詢問他們的日常生活、家庭生活及朋友。與此同時,您的助養兒童亦希望了解您更多,因此互相分享類似資訊是建立彼此關係的最簡單方式。其後,您或可嘗試更深入了解有關助養社區的習俗及假期等,而他們亦有可能對您的家庭生活感興趣。總括而言,助養兒童收到社區外的人所寄來的信,知道遠方有人關心自己,都會非常珍惜。

請留意︰為保障您與助養孩子的私隱及安全,請勿於信函中提供您的地址,電郵地址或聯絡電話或詢問助養孩子的聯絡方式。

回信一般需要約3個月才能送達您手中。翻譯及郵遞服務均有機會影響信件派送速度。您同時亦需留意寄信時間會否正值學校假期或節日。雖然信件往來需時,但在收到助養兒童寫給自己的回信後,那份欣喜是不能比擬的!